Articles

Where can you find gluten?

7th September 2016 | Written by Louise Blanchfield

You can find gluten in the most unlikely places! I’m sure we are all aware that it can be found in pasta, bread and cakes but did you know its also in ice cream, ketchup and stock cubes? That’s why it’s so easy to develop a sensitivity to it. It’s in so many things. Check out the table below for a comprehensive list of where you’ll find it.

Gluten containing grains = wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut and triticale (cross between wheat and rye)

Gluten Containing Foods are:

Batter

 

Beer / Whisky / Vodka / Gin

 

Biscuits

 

Bread inc. bagels / croissants / croutons / crackers / crumpets / naan / tortillas Breakfast cereals

 

Breadcrumbs

 

Cakes

 

Couscous

 

Crisps – check label, some are allowed

 

Flour

 

Ice cream (wheat)

 

Ketchup

 

Mustard Pasta inc. ravioli / noodles Pastry

 

Pizza bases

 

Pork Pie

 

Ready meals

 

Sauces – pre made and includes soy sauce

 

Sausages – hot dogs

 

Soups – tinned

 

Stock cubes

 

Sweets

 

Food additives, such as malt flavoring, modified food starch, MSG and others
Medications and vitamins that use gluten as a binding agent

 

Note – wheat products can be called many different things – namely bulgur, durum flour, farina, kamut, semolina and spelt. Oats can also be contaminated with wheat so avoid unless labelled gluten free.

Watch for cross-contamination Cross-contamination occurs when gluten-free foods come into contact with foods that contain gluten. This can occur whilst it is being manufactured or could occur at home if foods are prepared on common surfaces or with utensils not thoroughly cleaned after being used to prepare gluten-containing foods. Another example includes using the same toaster for gluten-free bread and normal bread.

Read the Labels

Care must be taken to read all the labels, just because a product is gluten free it doesn’t mean it’s good for you. Please check for high sugar levels and any artificial colours or preservatives. If in doubt, you’re best to leave it and try something else. Don’t forget, it is still a processed food and therefore will be hard for the body to digest.

If you think you are sensitive to gluten don’t just remove it from your diet because if there is a chance that you have celiac’s disease you have to have gluten in your diet in order for a doctor to do the blood test. I would always recommend that you speak to a professional before you make any major dietary changes. If you want to book an appointment please click here or give us a call to discuss it further.

Share this:

Subscribe to the Food Physio blog

Sign up to our newsletter to receive the latest news, recipes, promotions and much more!

All

Latest Posts

detox questionnaire
11th January 2018

Pre Detox Health Questionnaire

Please complete your details and then indicate the frequency of occurrence you may experience against each of the symptoms described... Read More
detox
4th January 2018

Detox Questionnaire

Using the box below fill in the form to find out whether you need to do a detox to help boost... Read More